top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichael Hawes

為美珊寫的兩首詩

[Two poems I wrote to honour my second wife, Mei San, mother of my first-born son.]


Hoofbeats on sand

chased away all thought

my heart fell in tune

led by your laughter


Perfect in the clarity

evenings can induce

a rose too beautiful

for the vase and water


Thank you for

a petal's texture,

its vibrant colour,

and most subtle fragrance


Thorns will not

pierce the honey-gatherer,

nor dissuade his touch,

for the moment lost


In collection

of the pure yellow dust

of love's bidding

that you grant me


 

Today

up a steep mountain

I went

near the top

in a place I know

I left a thought of love


It is tucked away

where nothing

will ever disturb it

and only for you


When night comes

I look across the water

towards your house

and my kiss

becomes a bird

flying home to you

in the dark

19 views
bottom of page