top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichael Hawes

Prothalamium

Lillooet, B. C. August 29, 2022


This is a speech I wrote and delivered to my wife, Leonisa at our wedding in 1991 at a Greek restaurant. I was thirty-four years old and had first been married at the age of twenty and again at the age of twenty-seven. My idea was to bring what I had learned from those two experiences and make a stronger base for a new beginning. Thirty-one years have now passed.


“My thoughts on the eve of my third marriage: Hello friends and witnesses to our ceremony. I do not want anyone to speak for me inside of a church. I feel closer to Truth, here in this Greek restaurant. I prefer to speak directly to my chosen partner. I am certain that all of our gods are witness to these events. Many years ago, I gave my heart to another person. I mumbled old vows that were put into my mouth by a preacher. Today, I am standing beside this woman to make a promise. I did not fall into love with her. I walked into it slowly with both of my eyes open. I have not given her my heart. That would be an unbearable burden for any person. Instead, I have created a place inside my heart, where she may dwell forever. I will also dwell in her heart. I offer her my potential. I take total responsibility for my happiness. Each day, I will communicate to her the things I learn. I offer to her my faithful companionship, while she realizes her own potential. We both acknowledge this truth: We are constantly evolving. We agree to support each other, although it is a mystery, who we shall be in the future. What encourages love to remain between two people? Mystery. All of us live in perpetual mystery. We are the guardians of the trust of our beloved. Beginning a marriage is similar to sailing a ship. We name our ship, Dignity. If we retain our dignity, we are rich. Thank you to all our friends and please do try the spanakopita!”


fin

bottom of page