top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichael Hawes

Still Ice

After doing a Calm guided meditation that is now a welcome part of my nightly mental health routine, I was asked to reflect upon that particular lesson. It was an introduction to the Japanese concept of Yuggen. One meaning of which could be that one has had a direct experience of unity at a level beyond description by words. I had such an experience two years ago while ice skating backwards in an empty rink listening to Bo Hansson's music. I lacked words to describe my feelings so I made a graphic approximation with a few words and some numbers. It is called, Still Ice.

A contemplation of "still" ice.

Here is the response I wrote to the Calm app's prompt for my reflection on the same topic. This time more words came and I felt slightly more comfortable using them, all while standing in proud humility, which ground I call dignity. Pictured above are a sister-brother ice dancing team and as I told my own sister, April when discussing the Yuggen meditation with her, "There are many experiences a person may encounter in which their ability with words may never allow them to express. It is precisely for this reason that the Irish and the Welsh evolved. One to round up the words and settle them by the fire with a pint and the other to spray paint them on heaven's door."


Question: "When you look up at the sky, how does it make you feel?"


My answer: "I feel a hint of the over-arching intent running through substance, sentience and potential. I feel the universe attaining self-awareness through my flesh. I feel keenly, the mystery of constant change on a scale so vast that it appears to deny itself. In the cobalt of a fair day, I think of the St'at'imx word, kwaz-kwaz and I feel it to be the most correct term. I feel my night is another's day. I think of a lady in Spain who told me of two kinds of birds. One with no feet and one with no wings. When I look at the moon, I feel whoever is also regarding it at the same time. When I look at the Pleiades, I feel my maternal grandmother's Cherokee people."

bottom of page