top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichael Hawes

East-Tec Eraser Review

It is not often that I write reviews of software these days. I got my first computer in 2002. I created a web-site and tested a wide variety of games, utilities and security products. Security became my main focus after having a remote access Trojan invade the desktop I shared with my sons.


Many dollars and hours were consumed by using, testing and beta testing. I began a list of which programs worked properly with the XP platform. They also had to be well coded, fully supported and built by folks who had pride in their work and brand.


The list evolved and I noticed disturbing trends. One such trend was the devolution of good software into frankencoded klusterwerx of digital misery. A further insult was sloppy install/uninstall coding that left users with no choice but to jettison the dross and move on.


After my list dwindled to a mere handful across all categories, I decided to re-review the stalwarts. Those who stayed the course, held their mud and adhered to worthy principals. Only one program shined all through the seventeen years to present.


That program is East-Tec Eraser. The people of this company have never disappointed me. They followed a wise course by separating their various utilities. The result is software that evolves by adding any needed functionality while avoiding superfluity.


The Romanian coders earned my great respect over the years by being among the technical best of the world. Their self imposed standards of craftsmanship count as much as their intelligence to this life time user.


The information on their website can adequately explain the importance of cybersecurity. I personally would not use a computer without East-Tec Eraser onboard. As I said when I last reviewed this fine product, “East-Tec Eraser will still be around after you break your next five computers.”

- Michael Hawes, author of Artemisia, East-Tec Eraser user since 2003

20 views
bottom of page